13th Annual Lawyers on Ice

13th Annual Lawyers on Ice

February 2, 2015

On February 2, 2015, SMRLS hosted the 13th annual Lawyers on Ice Hockey Event at the Xcel Energy Center. The games were a lot of fun. We had players assigned to four teams made up from our twelve team sponsors:

Robins Kaplan/Morrison Sund/Western National;
Martin & Squires/Meagher Geer/Stinson Leonard Street;
Ogletree Deakins/Gaskins Bennett Birrell Schupp/Murnane Brandt; and
Larson King/Briggs & Morgan/James Ysebaert-Merrill Lynch.

After the first two games, Larson King/Briggs & Morgan/James Ysebaert-Merrill Lynch beat Ogletree Deakins/Gaskins Bennett Birrell Schupp/Murnane Brandt in the third-place game that ended in a shoot-out. In the final game, Robins Kaplan/Morrison Sund/Western National beat Martin & Squires/Meagher Geer/Stinson Leonard Street by scoring with only one second remaining on the clock with a nice two on one passing play between Brad Ayers and Pat Martin. So, Robins Kaplan/Morrison Sund/Western National retained the SMRLS "Cup" for another year.

Over sixty lawyers and friends of SMRLS participated and donated in this year's event. Thank you to the referees Dan Kovarik, Ross Gibbs, Tony Lancette and Kristian Thonvold; Susan Hubbard, Jack Larson and Travis Larson of the Minnesota Wild/St. Paul River Centre/Xcel Energy Center and Marnie Girard of Levy Restaurants who made it a great time for all involved. As a result everyone's generosity, we are able to raise awareness in support of SMRLS' mission of equal justice for all.

13th Annual Lawyers on Ice
Leave Site